My books

I love writing fast-paced thrillers. Readers have, thankfully, compared my works to Vince Flynn, Lee Child, and Stephen Hunter — three of my favorite authors.

To date, I’ve published three books. (With about 30 in various stages, but you know how that goes…)

Sold Out” tracks the life of a legendary Marine Sniper after a CIA unit decides to kill him for reasons of national security.

Little Man, and the Dixon County War” tells the uphill fight a young deputy faces after surviving three years of war only to find himself in the sights of a mighty cattle baron.

And, “Soldier On,” a short novel, follows the lives of several German soldiers in a depleted infantry company trying to make it through the final, miserable months of World War II.

Read on below for more information about each of them.

Sold Out,” a tight Marine Sniper/CIA Thriller, shows what happens when free speech slams into the messy realities of national security.

Book DescriptionNick Woods used to be one of our country’s greatest snipers. A Marine who completed a bloody, top-secret mission behind enemy lines years ago, he now just wants to live in peace with his wife. 

But Nick is about to get caught in a grand conspiracy between a senior investigative reporter and a shadowy, CIA group.

After said reporter, Allen Green, breaks the details of Nick’s story — blowing the top off America’s national security — both Nick and Allen find themselves in the sights of a CIA hunter-killer group.

This CIA group breaks the law and kills at will, and they’ll stop at nothing to take down Nick Woods and the reporter who published the earth-shattering story he’d been chasing for years. [Length: 283 pages]

Get it on Amazon Kindle here. Price: $2.99. (Download this free app to read ebooks from your computer, laptop, ipad, phone, or other device.) 

Get it in paperback from Amazon herePrice varies, but usually $9.99.

Get it for Nook from Barnes & Noble here.  Price: $2.99.

Or in paperback from Barnes & Noble herePrice varies, but usually $9.99.

* * * * *

Little Man, and the Dixon County War” is an epic Western tale — a story of how even good must often become soiled in order to win. The book is a fast-paced, action-packed book set in the Western era. Fans of “Appaloosa” and “Django Unchained” will almost certainly enjoy it.

Book DescriptionYoung Deputy Marshal Paul Zachary shouldn’t have accepted that badge. And he certainly shouldn’t have shot down a ruthless gun fighter in front of a crowd of onlookers at Belleville’s busiest saloon.

But now that the smell of gunpowder has faded and the blood has been scrubbed off the floor, Zachary is something he never wanted to be: a damned hero.

And whether he wanted it or not, the 27-year-old Zachary has earned a big-time reputation, as well as the name “Little Man” — a derogatory term initially used by a famous gunfighter to describe his lack of age and stature.

Unfortunately for Zachary, his exploits in the newspapers are bringing people hope in the crime-ridden West, where lawless land barons push the weak, and sworn law officers balance keeping the peace and staying alive.

The kind of hope that Zachary brings can’t go on, so the West’s most powerful cattle baron — McConnell — decides he must kill this increasingly legendary law officer.

McConnell can’t get at the cautious Zachary on his home ground, so McConnell dispatches an evil gang of gunhands to kill Zachary’s best friend and abduct the man’s wife.

McConnell knows Zachary will come to rescue the woman and in doing so, will enter Dixon County, or what the locals call Devil’s County. Here, in this godforsaken stretch of country, McConnell owns most of the land and ALL of the law.

In order to save the woman, Zachary must achieve what even the Army couldn’t pull off: Cleaning out the lair of murderers, thieves, and cowhands who answer only to McConnell.

McConnell has bribed or buried every man who’s ever stood up to him, including a good-sized Army detachment, so if Zachary plans to take down almost a hundred gunhands and rescue the wife of his murdered friend, he’s going to need to round up some of the best fighters the West has seen.

Keeping these temperamental men together, while dodging traps, ambushes, and double-crosses at every turn, would prove a herculean task for a man twice Zachary’s age, but the quiet Zachary is no pushover. He learned to fight, and fight hard, from being the youngest in a tough line of men who’ve never missed a war. And, Zachary just survived three long, hard years in a ragtag, Rebel cavalry troop charged with raiding Northern towns.

Now Zachary will attempt the impossible. He knows it may cost him his life, but some wrongs must be made right. [Length: 262 pages]

Get it on Amazon Kindle herePrice: $2.99. (Download this free app to read ebooks from your computer, laptop, ipad, phone, or other device.)

Get it in paperback from Amazon herePrice: $9.99.

* * * * *

Soldier On” is a novel about soldiers facing impossible odds, as well as the limits of human endurance. Book description: As World War II enters its final stretch, the last elements of the German Army struggle to survive and end the war with honor.

Soldier OnThe German soldiers know the war is lost, but have no idea how many days (or weeks) remain before capitulation. The weak and unlucky are gone. Now, only the strong remain, a ragged band of men determined to maintain their prestige and respect. They are the sons of indomitable veterans from World War I — men filled with too much pride to quit or surrender.

But food resupply is a problem. Ammo, too. And each day,with its increasingly absurd set of orders, begins to test the men in ways they could have never imagined. These days are tough for the men, and tougher for the leaders.

Hemmed in by Nazi SS units waiting to arrest or shoot retreating troops on one side and hordes of well-supplied American troops advancing mercilessly on the other, the men pray they must only endure the freezing weather of the last days. And that their supplies won’t run out. And that they won’t lose the honor and dignity they’ve spent years creating.

“Soldier On” is a short novel. [Approximately 61 pages long.]

Get it on Amazon Kindle herePrice: $1.99. (Download this free app to read ebooks from your computer, laptop, ipad, phone, or other device.)